May 8th – The Daily Affirmation


No more cigarettes!

No more cigarettes!

Today is day 22 without cigarettes! I find that I am breathing better. That persistent cough I had is now gone. My sense of smell has improved, and so has my ability to taste foods!

I have had the help of the patch to do this. Today I started on Step 2, which is a reduction of nicotine. Nasty stuff that nicotine! They say that it is harder to quit smoking than to quit an addiction to heroine! Well, I don’t know about that, but it is hard, and this is not my first time trying to quit.

Mark Twain once said, “Giving up smoking is the easiest thing in the world. I know because I’ve done it a thousand times.”

The cartoon character Maxine says of smoking, “Here’s a tip to help you quit smoking. If the patch isn’t working for you, try putting it over your mouth.”

Enough on the fact that I quit smoking! I had the best nights sleep last night! I actually slept from 9:30 last night to 7:30 this morning, with only 4 nature calls in the night! Wahoo!

Yesterday I finished one of the garden art projects and today I start the next one! Photos to come when the second one is completed!

Thanks for visiting today, and be well! – Jane

10 thoughts on “May 8th – The Daily Affirmation

  1. CONGRATULATIONS, JANE!!! That’s fantastic! I love what Maxine said about putting the patch on your mouth. Haha! That’s a good idea for dieters, too. So glad to hear you had a good sleep last night and I hope you’re enjoying your day!

  2. I quit smoking loads of times as well. The last time I tried was January 30th 2006, and this attempt has lasted the longest so far. The first three months are the worst and the first three weeks are the worst of that. You have got through the three weeks, so you are on a levelling out on the uphill struggle. It won’t be long before you are rolling down the hill on the other side whooping with joy at having succeeded. You can do it Jane, I have faith in you 🙂

Do you have thoughts to share? I would love to hear them!

