May 10th – The Daily Affirmation


Full of life!

Full of life!

I had a very special day yesterday with the gals at lunch! It was so good to see everyone! I had an amazing cup of Clam Chowder and I had a turkey, bacon avocado sandwich that stuffed me to the brim!

I wanted to share some numbers with you today. When I got home last night, in the mail was my explanation of benefits for the chemo treatments I had. The cost of my first chemo treatment was $43,260! The insurance company only allows them to charge $21,963.72. This is a write off of $21,296.28! My second day of treatment was $20,801, with the allowable amount being $10,565.47. The write off amount on this day is $8,485.47. So the total for two chemo treatments $64,061! The write off is $30,453.75! Is your jaw on the ground?

Now the medical center where I have this done is a “non-profit” organization. How do they stay non-profit? By the write-off amounts! After the write off, they net $24,052.75 which pays for salaries and overhead costs. And at the end of the day their bottom line is zero!

I just wanted to share this with you today! So what are you up to today? I have to make a trip to town this morning to pick up stuff for lunch as our yard helper will be with us today and I usually feed him and my husband lunch! When I get home, I am going back to work on the second piece of yard art!

Whatever you do today, enjoy the day and I hope that you too will feel full of life!

My best to you – Hugs and be well!
Jane

10 thoughts on “May 10th – The Daily Affirmation

  1. Maybe they charge an astronomical amount, because they know they’ll only get a certain percentage back, a percentage that, in combination with the write-offs, represents their real costs? Those figures seem crazy, don’t they? I sure hope you’re fully covered for it! I’m so glad you get another trip to town. It’s a beautiful day for it. As for your Daily Affirmation, I wholeheartedly agree. You are one of the most “full of life” people I know! Hugs.

    • Slated for 3 of those! Can you imagine the cost of having treatments every day? Or once a week? Or twice a week for months on end? Insane! They are extreme indeed! Hugs and be well Amy – love Jane

      • And still my question …. WHY so expensive? I honestly don’t get it and I sit here with my stomach on the floor imaging what people in this world must have to do in order to afford treatment. Man, this world just makes no sense to me, Jane. That is why I keep my head in flowers (and weeds LOL) Love, Amy

      • The answer to the question: GREED! Doesn’t this ring as a scam between the insurance companies, non-profit medical offices and those providing the services, and big Pharma? I am still wondering if the $15 charge was for the two 6 1/2 oz. grape juices they gave to me, or was it the 5 squares of TP I used when I used the bathroom?

      • Jane, you have every right to be angry. I am too. Yes, it is greed, and seeing how high the rate of cancer is, these insurance companies and big pharma are cashing in like thieves they are. I am a nurse, and what I see in medicine horrifies me, just repulses me. It is wrong, so much of it. Needless to say, it is a good thing Spirit knew years ago to take me out of the field (severe back injury) because I could not work in a field that turns my stomach. Where is it going to end? How much more can humanity take? I don’t know, but this I do know. I am glad more then half my life is over. I’ll be very relieved to go Home when the Angels call. And in the meantime, I am on my mountain top shouting to the world LOVE is the ANSWER. And so that is exactly what I do. (((HUGS))) Amy

      • We know a fellow who had a heart attack, was sent to a private hospital, and then sent somewhere else as he had no insurance. He showed my husband and his brother a greenbar paper report that was about 3″ thick of charges at the private hospital. It was $6.00 for one Q-Tip, and $8.00 for one Tylenol. This is what should have been regulated instead of requiring all in our country to obtain health insurance!

        Have you heard the reports recently about the VA and the 14 day appointment thing where the numbers appeared good for the hospitals and positively affected bonuses for employees while screwing patients? All for the numbers!

        Hugs to you and be well my friend! – – JD

      • Yes, Jane, what I hear over and over again gets worse and worse. This is one of the reasons why I have my head in flowers most of the time. If I think into the furture I go right into panic. I stay in the NOW and walk in Faith. (((HUGS))) Amy

Do you have thoughts to share? I would love to hear them!

