October 25th – The Daily Affirmation


There is always a rainbow!

There is always a rainbow!

It has been a few days since I did a post. I needed the time to process information. You see, last Wednesday I went to the Dr.’s to get the results of the recent bone marrow test.

The Dr. told me there was good news and bad news. I gripped the arms of the chair. The bad news first: I still have lymphoma in my bones. While the percentage is low, it is still there. The good news is that it is so low that I do not require any more chemo. More bad news: I have to have infusions of the Rituxin over the next TWO YEARS! 😦

The reason for the two more years of treatment is to control what remains. Now I knew that there is no cure for SLL, but even so, I never anticipated more needles into my now hidden veins. This means the possibility of having to have a port, which is a device they insert into a vein similar to a catheter. Eee gads!

The nurses at the clinic expressed their concern to me because as time has passed, they are having a harder time finding a vein for the IV. This is due to the chemo. One thing they do mention, in case you go through this too, is that one needs to drink massive quantities of water to help the veins plump up so that they can get the needle into the vein.

Even so, I am still being positive about this, and if having more infusions controls SLL, then let’s do it! There is always a rainbow!

Hugs and be well!
Jane

4 thoughts on “October 25th – The Daily Affirmation

  1. So sorry you have to go through more infusions, Jane. Glad to hear the percentage is low, so at least all you’ve been through to date has been worth it. Keep us posted. Hugs!

  2. Thinking about you Jane as you deal with your good & bad news. Fortunately for me, I have good veins (today) and the IV nurse almost always hits the vein on the first stick. Undortunately, the doctor says I’ll be taking Rituxan indefinitely every 28 days. Until the Rituxan & Imbruvica clinical studies get further out, indications are that I just keep on taking the drugs. Fortunately, my blood counts holding up very well which I hope means that the SLL involvement in my bone marrow is being dimished, greatly. Current plans are for a PET scan after 9 cycles (December) and a bone marrow biopsy in April 2015. They will give me propofol again for bone marrow which decreases the pain to zero except for the IV. I am not expecting to be in complete remission but of course, we always hope for that even though the statistics say otherwise. I am just grateful to be on a drug that is giving good response. My last scan showed that my lymph nodes had reduced by 66%. I have no experience with an IV port. One of the patients I talked to has a port in his upper arm for monthly IV chemo. I’m not sure why. Anyway, hugs from a fellow SLL suffer. Grateful for each day with family & friends. May the Lord bless and keep you!

    • Sorry that it took me so long to reply! I have not been feeling up to posting on this site. I hope that all goes well for you. I am not sure what to expect and have a bit of trepidation over these treatments. I have issues with my fingers on both hands, and I am not looking forward to many days of constipation, which I get from the Rituxan. The Dr. did not mention another bone marrow test, but I am certain this will be in the future! May the Lord bless you and yours! I too am grateful every day for the loving support I receive from family and friends! Hugs Lynn! J

Do you have thoughts to share? I would love to hear them!

